The Alpha Omicron chapter celebrated our 100th year at Southwestern University in 2010, and in conjunction with the AO Alumni Association, completed a fundraising campaign to endow the Alpha Omicron Centennial Scholarship Fund. Each year, multiple brothers of the chapter receive a scholarship from the fund on the basis of both merit and financial need. Applications are typically due in late April with applicants being notified of the results in early June.



  • Awarded to the three members with the highest GPA during the semester
  • Recipients must reside in the Pike House
  • Recipients must complete at least 12 hours of credit


  • Awarded to the three members who proctor the most Study Hours
  • Recipients must maintain a 3.0 semester GPA
  • Recipients are not required to reside in the Pike House
  • Recipients must complete at least 12 hours of credit


  • Awarded to the three members who make the greatest improvement in their semester GPA
  • Members must make at least a 3.0 GPA to qualify for this scholarship
  • Recipients are not required to reside in the Pike House
  • Recipients must complete at least 12 hours of credit


The Earl Lee Mosely Jr. Endowed Scholarship Fund
Brother Mosely earned his Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Southwestern University in 1984. During that time, Earl became the first African-American member of the Southwestern Greek Community when he pledged to the Alpha Omicron Chapter of the Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity. The Earl Lee Moseley Jr. Endowed Scholarship Fund will provide future students demonstrating leadership and civic engagement with scholarship help that extends Earl’s legacy of service that changes lives.

Truman J. Odiorne Endowed Scholarship
Truman Odiorne, a 1966 graduate of Southwestern, grew up in Johnson City, Texas, and he was able to attend Southwestern due to an academic scholarship. According to his widow, he greatly valued his education and credited Southwestern’s small size and personal learning environment with his academic success as a chemistry major. A prominent campus leader, Truman attributed many of his learned leadership skills to the variety of governance roles he served through his fraternity, Pi Kappa Alpha.


There are a variety of competitive scholarships available to outstanding Pike brothers from all chapters, including those listed below. For more information on scholarships and their respective due dates, please follow the link to the international fraternity website.

John “Jack” Lux Scholarship: Awarded yearly to Pikes majoring in accounting or finance.
Scott A. Mackler, MD, PhD, Medical School Memorial Scholarship: A $3,000 annual award granted to a Pike studying medicine.
Robert D. Lynn Memorial Scholarship: Annually awarded to a Pike who demonstrates outstanding inter-fraternal leadership on campus.
Joseph Pavelka Scholarship: Awarded to a Pike completing an internship in Washington D.C.