Alpha Omicron is the Mother Chapter of Pi Kappa Alpha in Texas. The seven local founders of the Alpha Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Alpha were initiated on November 12, 1910. These men were:

Glenn Dee Chapman
Samuel Austin Grogan
James Marvin McGuire
Omer Ogden Mickle
Claudius Mayo Singleton
Adrian Lee Voight (1st President)
Merle Thomas Waggoner

Societal mores changed dramatically during the 1920s and 1930s, and Alpha Omicron struggled to remain relevant in changing times. In 1933, the Chapter was down to seven active members, and it went silent at the end of that year.

In the early 1940s, Kenneth Bass, with help from faculty, administration, and other students, formed a local fraternity called Pi Chi. The men of Pi Chi soon wanted to join a National Fraternity. On June 2, 1945, fifty members of Pi Chi met in Room 9 of Mood-Bridwell Hall to discuss their options.

Alpha Omicron was reborn on January 16, 1948, when brothers from Beta Mu and Beta Zeta Chapters initiated the first returning pledge class. The majority of the new initiates were men who had served their country in WWII. They were older, motivated and more mature than their counterparts. They set the standard of excellence that defined Pi Kappa Alpha on Southwestern’s campus for the decades to come.

Society went through more dramatic changes in the 1960s. Again AO worked to remain relevant. This time, the Chapter succeeded in embracing diversity and change. In the school year of 1969-70, the Chapter adopted its motto “Unity through Diversity.” Today, Alpha Omicron prides itself for being a melting pot of individuals united by a shared goal – to improve themselves as Scholars, Leaders, Athletes, and Gentlemen.

Alpha Omicron grew and thrived. It won the Smythe award, Pi Kappa Alpha’s highest honor, in 1969, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, and 1992. It won the Chapter Excellence Award in 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, and 1994. In addition to winning these and other prestigious National Awards, the Chapter gained a reputation of academic excellence, winning the academic trophy among all student organizations for more than 50 consecutive semesters. In 2006, Alpha Omicron became the first Greek organization in Southwestern’s history to win the coveted award of “Organization of the Year.”